After you Subscribe email your username
and receipt to
goonsquad.me@gmail.com
Membership Options
Pay With Bitcoin
  • 45 Vote(s) - 3.09 Average
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Thread Modes

Maitreya Lara tutorial with dev kit
RiderLibertas Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 10
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
Thanks so much to Zero for the Maitreya Lara tutorial and dev kit!  I'm trying to make some clothing for it and am running into a problem with weighting.  Whenever I change a shape slider to test weighting the body turns and distorts slightly.  The bones, head, hands and feet stay but the body itself seems to turn 270 degrees but not exactly on center of the z axis and it changes size slightly and the neck goes out of alignment.  If I turn the clothing it no longer fits.

Am I doing something wrong?

Pixel Duster Offline
Elite Member
********
V.I.P

Posts: 85
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 163
(05-06-2016, 07:21 AM)Pixel Duster Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.This is probably a dumb question but wouldn't you lose the fitmesh bones?

No, I get it now. Just took a minute for that to sink in.

grezz Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 28
(05-06-2016, 07:11 AM)RiderLibertas Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 06:57 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I had reported this problem to zero when she first uploaded the kit - she said that the body was rotated on the z axis at some point (probably after it was bound) and messing with the sliders somehow makes it jump back.

I've fixed it om my installation, in a rather roundabout way, by exporting the body then deleting it from the kit. I then loaded the kit (minus the body) into the latest blender/avastar combo (2.77/17.2) - this actually updated the armature to the new latest version. I then imported the body I exported earlier and bound it to the armature.

That's how I did it, but I suppose that if you don't want to upgrade you could export the body and delete it, delete the aramature, add a new avastar avatar (without triangles) then import the body again and bind it.



I don't think I have the skills to do this.  I have the updated blender/avaster.  I exported the Lara body for use in MD so I have that.  I don't know how to import the Lara body and bind it to the avastar armature though.  Anyone know if there is a tutorial anywhere on how to do that?


They're the skills you need to use the kit in the first place and Zero's 1 hour tutorial should bring you up to speed. You bind the body to the armature in exactly the same way as you do it to bind clothes to the armature. Just make sure that you select keep in the binding options so you don't lose the weights.
Export and import the body by choosing collada from the import/export options. I believe i used the collada (avastar) one - not sure if the other will work for this.
I'll try and make things easier by uploading my blender file though - it's here You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Use at your own risk though - no guarantees I haven't broken anything in the kit when making my changes. Maybe I just haven't found out yet! I do use that blender file to rig clohes that I upload to SL though.

RiderLibertas Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 10
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
(05-06-2016, 07:41 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 07:11 AM)RiderLibertas Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 06:57 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I had reported this problem to zero when she first uploaded the kit - she said that the body was rotated on the z axis at some point (probably after it was bound) and messing with the sliders somehow makes it jump back.

I've fixed it om my installation, in a rather roundabout way, by exporting the body then deleting it from the kit. I then loaded the kit (minus the body) into the latest blender/avastar combo (2.77/17.2) - this actually updated the armature to the new latest version. I then imported the body I exported earlier and bound it to the armature.

That's how I did it, but I suppose that if you don't want to upgrade you could export the body and delete it, delete the aramature, add a new avastar avatar (without triangles) then import the body again and bind it.




I don't think I have the skills to do this.  I have the updated blender/avaster.  I exported the Lara body for use in MD so I have that.  I don't know how to import the Lara body and bind it to the avastar armature though.  Anyone know if there is a tutorial anywhere on how to do that?



They're the skills you need to use the kit in the first place and Zero's 1 hour tutorial should bring you up to speed. You bind the body to the armature in exactly the same way as you do it to bind clothes to the armature. Just make sure that you select keep in the binding options so you don't lose the weights.
Export and import the body by choosing collada from the import/export options. I believe i used the collada (avastar) one - not sure if the other will work for this.
I'll try and make things easier by uploading my blender file though - it's here You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Use at your own risk though - no guarantees I haven't broken anything in the kit when making my changes. Maybe I just haven't found out yet! I do use that blender file to rig clohes that I upload to SL though.

Thanks so much, Grezz!  I think I do get it now that you've explained it but I really appreciate the file and I do understand the caveat Smile

Pixel Duster Offline
Elite Member
********
V.I.P

Posts: 85
Threads: 6
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 163
(05-06-2016, 07:41 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 07:11 AM)RiderLibertas Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 06:57 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I had reported this problem to zero when she first uploaded the kit - she said that the body was rotated on the z axis at some point (probably after it was bound) and messing with the sliders somehow makes it jump back.

I've fixed it om my installation, in a rather roundabout way, by exporting the body then deleting it from the kit. I then loaded the kit (minus the body) into the latest blender/avastar combo (2.77/17.2) - this actually updated the armature to the new latest version. I then imported the body I exported earlier and bound it to the armature.

That's how I did it, but I suppose that if you don't want to upgrade you could export the body and delete it, delete the aramature, add a new avastar avatar (without triangles) then import the body again and bind it.




I don't think I have the skills to do this.  I have the updated blender/avaster.  I exported the Lara body for use in MD so I have that.  I don't know how to import the Lara body and bind it to the avastar armature though.  Anyone know if there is a tutorial anywhere on how to do that?



They're the skills you need to use the kit in the first place and Zero's 1 hour tutorial should bring you up to speed. You bind the body to the armature in exactly the same way as you do it to bind clothes to the armature. Just make sure that you select keep in the binding options so you don't lose the weights.
Export and import the body by choosing collada from the import/export options. I believe i used the collada (avastar) one - not sure if the other will work for this.
I'll try and make things easier by uploading my blender file though - it's here You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Use at your own risk though - no guarantees I haven't broken anything in the kit when making my changes. Maybe I just haven't found out yet! I do use that blender file to rig clohes that I upload to SL though.

Thank you! This is more familiar territory since I've worked more with the newer avastar. I'm having a difficult time with selections but will try it with a looser garment later after all of this info has had a chance to settle in. Very helpful, thank you.

grezz Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 28
(05-06-2016, 08:28 AM)Pixel Duster Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 07:41 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 07:11 AM)RiderLibertas Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 06:57 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I had reported this problem to zero when she first uploaded the kit - she said that the body was rotated on the z axis at some point (probably after it was bound) and messing with the sliders somehow makes it jump back.

I've fixed it om my installation, in a rather roundabout way, by exporting the body then deleting it from the kit. I then loaded the kit (minus the body) into the latest blender/avastar combo (2.77/17.2) - this actually updated the armature to the new latest version. I then imported the body I exported earlier and bound it to the armature.

That's how I did it, but I suppose that if you don't want to upgrade you could export the body and delete it, delete the aramature, add a new avastar avatar (without triangles) then import the body again and bind it.





I don't think I have the skills to do this.  I have the updated blender/avaster.  I exported the Lara body for use in MD so I have that.  I don't know how to import the Lara body and bind it to the avastar armature though.  Anyone know if there is a tutorial anywhere on how to do that?




They're the skills you need to use the kit in the first place and Zero's 1 hour tutorial should bring you up to speed. You bind the body to the armature in exactly the same way as you do it to bind clothes to the armature. Just make sure that you select keep in the binding options so you don't lose the weights.
Export and import the body by choosing collada from the import/export options. I believe i used the collada (avastar) one - not sure if the other will work for this.
I'll try and make things easier by uploading my blender file though - it's here You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Use at your own risk though - no guarantees I haven't broken anything in the kit when making my changes. Maybe I just haven't found out yet! I do use that blender file to rig clohes that I upload to SL though.


Thank you! This is more familiar territory since I've worked more with the newer avastar. I'm having a difficult time with selections but will try it with a looser garment later after all of this info has had a chance to settle in. Very helpful, thank you.

So anyone have any luck with my modded file? I'm curious to see whether anyone found it useful.

RiderLibertas Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 10
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
Quote:So anyone have any luck with my modded file? I'm curious to see whether anyone found it useful.

Yes!  The sliders work just fine on your version.  I did some editing on the Pose Position to a nice A pose for modeling on in MD but that's all I changed.  Thanks so much for this!

kiki00 Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 13
Threads: 1
Joined: Feb 2016
Reputation: 0
HI! Please can you give the link to the Zero's Maitreya Dev Kit? 
Or by that you mean the MESHES post Zero did few days ago?
I am a bit confused...

RiderLibertas Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 10
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2016
Reputation: 0
(05-09-2016, 04:58 PM)kiki00 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.HI! Please can you give the link to the Zero's Maitreya Dev Kit? 
Or by that you mean the MESHES post Zero did few days ago?
I am a bit confused...

The tutorial is this video:
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

The download link for the dev kit is in the video description.

sassygirl Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 2
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2016
Reputation: 0
(05-06-2016, 07:41 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 07:11 AM)RiderLibertas Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(05-06-2016, 06:57 AM)grezz Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I had reported this problem to zero when she first uploaded the kit - she said that the body was rotated on the z axis at some point (probably after it was bound) and messing with the sliders somehow makes it jump back.

I've fixed it om my installation, in a rather roundabout way, by exporting the body then deleting it from the kit. I then loaded the kit (minus the body) into the latest blender/avastar combo (2.77/17.2) - this actually updated the armature to the new latest version. I then imported the body I exported earlier and bound it to the armature.

That's how I did it, but I suppose that if you don't want to upgrade you could export the body and delete it, delete the aramature, add a new avastar avatar (without triangles) then import the body again and bind it.




I don't think I have the skills to do this.  I have the updated blender/avaster.  I exported the Lara body for use in MD so I have that.  I don't know how to import the Lara body and bind it to the avastar armature though.  Anyone know if there is a tutorial anywhere on how to do that?



They're the skills you need to use the kit in the first place and Zero's 1 hour tutorial should bring you up to speed. You bind the body to the armature in exactly the same way as you do it to bind clothes to the armature. Just make sure that you select keep in the binding options so you don't lose the weights.
Export and import the body by choosing collada from the import/export options. I believe i used the collada (avastar) one - not sure if the other will work for this.
I'll try and make things easier by uploading my blender file though - it's here You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

Use at your own risk though - no guarantees I haven't broken anything in the kit when making my changes. Maybe I just haven't found out yet! I do use that blender file to rig clohes that I upload to SL though.

Hi! Thank you for the Blend file. Should I update to the current version of Blender and Avastar for this to work properly? I seem to be getting an error right off the bat. I import my OBJ. Select the garment, select the bones and click "Bind to Armeture" and it's giving me a big error message. Your layers are different than Zero's so I'm not sure what I might be doing wrong here. Thanks for any input!

travis233 Offline
Beginner
Registered

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Jul 2016
Reputation: 0
I can't find the Alter to Rest pose when I'm about to rig the mesh to the bones. I am running blender 2.72b and avastar 1.7.0. Someone please help me D: !!Cry





Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Color Skins

Change Color:

Background Patterns:

Background Images:

Background Header:

Setting Panel

Main Options: